Available in PDF

Monday, October 27  
PhD student/young researcher workshop 

Tuesday, October 28, 2014     

8:00-9:00am: Continental Breakfast

9:15-9:30am: Welcome
Anders Brännström, Chair of the Board, Volvo Research and Educational Foundations
Xavier de Sousa Briggs, VP, Ford Foundation
Elliott Sclar, Director, Center for Sustainable Urban Development 

9:30-10:00am: Opening Remarks
Commissioner Polly Trottenberg, New York City Department of Transportation

Cabinet Secretary Anthony Foxx, United States Department of Transportation

Open Q &A     

10:00-10: 30am: Discussion with Pete Donohue, New York Daily News
Bob Yaro, President, Regional Plan Association)
Joan Byron, Director of Policy, Pratt Center for Community Development
Jon Orcutt, Former Director of Policy at the NYC Dept. of Transportation

10:30-10:50am: Coffee/Tea break

Panel: Foundations and the Access Agenda

A conversation with Don Chen, Senior Program Officer, Ford Foundation
Anders Brännström, Chair, Volvo Research and Educational Foundations
Michael Meyers, Managing Director, Rockefeller Foundation
Shin-pei Tsay, Director Research and Development, TransitCenter

Panel: Improving Access in Cites: Challenges and Opportunities
Linda Bailey, Executive Director, National Association of City Transportation Officials
Michael Myers, Managing Director, Rockefeller Foundation
Elliott Sclar, Director, Center for Sustainable Urban Development
Geetam Tiwari, Coordinator, Transport Research and Injury Prevention Program

Discussants: Roger Behrens, Africa Center of Excellence in Public and Non-Motorized Transport
Adie Tomer, Senior Research Associate, Brookings Institution
George Makajuma, Transport Engineer, African Development Bank

Moderator: Michael Replogle, Managing Director for Policy, Institute for Transportation and Development Policy


1:00-2:15pm: Lunch 
Briefing on the Urban Sustainable Development Goal Campaign:
Jessica Espey, The Sustainable Development Solutions Network

Briefing on the Low Emissions Development Strategies (LEDS) Latin American and Caribbean Transport Working Group on Transportation:
Rodrigo Tornquist, Sustenar-Ar

2:30-3:20pm: Introduction
Anthony Townsend, Senior Researcher Scientist, Rudin Center for Transportation, New York University

Keynote: Gabe Klein, Chief Operating Officer, Bridj


3:30-3:50pm: Coffee/Tea Break 

Panel: Innovations and Insights from New York
Frank Hebbert, Open Plans
John Raskin, Executive Director, Riders Alliance
Michael Sorkin, Director, CUNY Urban Design Program
Veronica Vanterpool, Executive Director, Tri-State Transportation Campaign

Discussants: Sarah Kaufman, Digital Manager, Rudin Center for Transportation
Paul Steely White, Executive Director, Transportation Alternatives

Moderator: Diane Davis, Professor of Urbanism and Development, Harvard University


5:30-6:30pm: Reception co-hosted by TransitCenter and The American Assembly 

Wednesday, October 29

8:00-8: 50 am: Continental Breakfast

9:00-10:30 am
How to best design and implement better access in cities?
Bob Cervero, Professor of City and Regional Planning, UC-Berkeley
Juan Carlos Muñoz, Director, The Centre for Across Latitudes and Cultures Bus Rapid Transit 
Aimée Gauthier, Chief Program Officer, Institute for Transportation and Development Policy
Herrie Schalekamp, The African Centre of Excellence for Studies in Public and Non-motorised Transport

Discussants: David King, Assistant Professor of Urban Planning, Columbia University/CSUD
Deborah Salon, Assistant Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, Arizona State University
Dorothy McCormick, The African Centre of Excellence for Studies in Public and Non-motorised Transport
Andrea Rizvi, Center for Sustainable Urban Development

Moderator: Andres Pizzaro, Transport Consultant, Argentina


10:30-10:50 am: Coffee break                                                 

11:00-12:30 pm
anel: Why bother about urban freight?
Nomesh Bolia, Associate Professor, IIT Delhi/TRIPP
Joe Dack, Transportation Logistics Manager, HDR
Andrew Genn, Senior Vice President, NYC Economic Development Corporation 
Stacey Hodge, Director, Office of Freight Policy, NYC Department of Transportation 
Howard Mann, New York Metropolitan Transportation Council 

Discussants: Alison Conway, Assistant Professor, Civil Engineering, CCNY/Metrofreight
Michael Browne, Professor of Transport and Logistics, University of Westminster/Gothenburg Urban Freight Platform

Moderator:  Laetitia Dablanc, Director of Research, French Institute of Science and Technology for Transport, Development and Networks/METROFREIGHT


12:30-1:45 pm: Lunch 

Reforming the governance institutions of urban transport and land-use: What Challenges and Opportunities?
Rohit Aggarawala, Principal, Sustainability, Bloomberg Associates
Harry Dimitriou, Director, OMEGA Centre
Genevieve Giuliano, Professor, University of Southern California/METROFREIGHT 
Jiang Yulin,
The China Urban Sustainable Transport Research Center

Discussants: Heather Allen, Programme Director, Transport Research Laboratory 
Joshua Schank, President and CEO, Eno Center for Transportation)
Jon Orcutt, former Policy Director, NYC Department of Transportation 

Moderator: Tom Wright, Executive Director and President Elect, Regional Plan Association


3:30-3:50 pm: Coffee/tea break

4:00-5:30 pm
Panel: Who leads change in transforming urban mobility and how can such leadership be supported
Madeliane Janis, Director, Jobs to Move America/Los Angeles Alliance for a New Economy
Brad Lander, NYC Council Member 39th District-Brooklyn
Marc Norman, Director, Upstate: A Center for Design, Research, and Real Estate 
Felipe Targa, Former Transport Minister Colombia/University of the Andes/World Bank

Discussants: Karl Peet, Sustainable Transport Research Coordinator, SloCAT
Susan Zleinski, Managing Director, SMART, University of Michigan 

Elliot "Lee” G. Sander, President and CEO, HAKS Group

Moderator: Margaret Newman, Executive Director, Municipal Art Society 


Thursday, October 30

8:00-8:50 am: Continental Breakfast

9:00-10:00 am: Panel
Engaged Research and Global Collaborations
Joan Byron, Director of Policy, Pratt Center for Community Development
Chris Jones, Vice President for Research, Regional Plan Association
Jacqueline M. Klopp, Associate Research Scholar, Center for Sustainable Urban Development
Henry Ochieng, Programs Director, Kenya Alliance of Resident Associations
Apiwat Ratanawaraha, Lecturer, Chulalongkorn University
Sarah Williams, Director, Civic Data Design Lab, MIT

Moderator: Anna Rubbo, Adjunct Senior Scholar, Center for Sustainable Urban Development


10:00-10:20 am: Coffee break

10:30-11:30 am: Panel  
New Collaborations and Creating an Agenda for Action
Facilitators: Nick Hamilton, Project Manager, The American Assembly
Liz Marcello, Center for Sustainable Urban Development
Danielle Petretta, Center for Sustainable Urban Development 

11:30-12:30 pm: Panel
Future Directions: How can we contribute and work together to promote and support innovative action?
A conversation with Henrik Nolmark, Director, VREF
Don Chen, Acting Director, Ford Foundation
Amy Kenyon, Acting Deputy Director, Ford Foundation

Amira Bliss, Senior Program Associate, Rockefeller Foundation
Shin- pei Tsay, Director of Research and Development, TransitCenter

12:30-2:00 pm: Light lunch 

2:30pm Tour of Grand Central Terminal (RSVP required)